"Back porting" LW features to EW

walrusWrangler

As a preface, I'm pretty new to EW modding, and I haven't actually tried playing LW yet. I don't really have the desire to, for a number of reasons. One being that I'm simply not done enjoying EW yet.

I'm not going to get into the politics of LW. Suffice it to say, it's not for everyone. However, as someone who enjoys modding games, it's frustrating to see so many good mods that conceptually would work with EW which are locked to LW, unusable without also accepting their radical changes to gameplay that make XCOM a completely different beast. What LW has done with the closed off engine of XCOM is amazing, and I have a lot of respect for their accomplishments. However, I'm also pretty pleased with EW's vanilla game balance.

I'm mainly talking about general use features, like the various UI upgrades, soldier customizability options (Gender, Nationality, and Class aware name lists? More soldier nationalities and voices? Yes please), and various other QoL mods.
A lot of them do have EW compatible versions, but there's still enough that don't, or have gimped EW versions due to lacking LW modding features.

I hope that discussing this isn't seen as some sort of attempt to take a hatchet to LW and sell its organs piecemeal on the street. I just want to try to make XCOM, and XCOM modding, a better experience for all users, EW and LW alike.
=============================
There are two aspects to this that I can see:

• Cutting LW specific aspects out of currently existing mods
  • Seperating LW's changes that support extended modding capabilities from their other changes
  • Placing the organs on ice and reaching out to grey market contacts

Cutting: