Where to start?

Not sure where else I would post this but feel free to move it if this is wrong.

Alright, so I'm setting out on an attempt to build a Total Conversion mod for Morrowind, a la Arktwend. Completely removed from Elder Scrolls lore and basically just piggybacking off the engine and assets to make my own game. The only roadblock being of course that I have no idea what I'm doing.

To be quite direct I've never made a mod before. I've played around with the toolset in the past, tried applying for a post with Tamriel Rebuilt that didn't pan out as my life took a different direction, but for the most part I'm a total rank amateur. This project is as much about the practice as it is about seeing my vision come to fruition. The main reason I'm going with a TC mod rather than just making a dungeon or something more low-key is that I'm incredibly picky. Every time I have an idea for a mod I start planning it out, then realize that for it to fully satisfy me I'd need to change aspects X, Y and Z around it, and it just snowballs until I'm contemplating a total game overhaul and scrap the idea for its overambition. So better to just throw out all pretense and make my own game from the ground up so I don't need to worry about stepping on anyone's toes but my own.

Of course, this comes with its own set of obstacles. While I'm no sure this is the case with the Steam version as I haven't tried yet, but back when I used a CD copy of the game I could never access the vanilla assets directly, as they were stored to disc instead of files on the computer. And by extension couldn't build new content from scratch without loading the master files and then creating a plugin that manually removed the entire game map, a rather Sisyphean task. So if anyone knows how to start a mod with access to the main game's assets without actually loading in the main game into the plugin, that would certainly be appreciated.