Fallout 4: Newbie Concept Artist Questions

Zarchell

So I recently have taken an interest in making custom items from scratch to put into and use in the game using Maya 2016. My father recently made a few mods that he would like some unique item models for (e.g. his Choice Chopped mod), and I was wanting to try and make some of the unique poster adverts that he was wanting for various food items (e.g. Diamond City Chili Dog, Dandelion Wine, etc.) and also some unique item models for some of his food (he currently has to use an ear of corn for his Chili Dog and I was wanting to make an actual hot dog for his Chili Dog in Maya).

However, the issue I'm running into is that I'm COMPLETELY new to this sort of thing. I've tried looking on the internet for various tutorials on making posters, items, etc. in Maya and haven't found a whole lot. I found some stuff that will kind of help for the actual item design of some of his foods, but as far as things like drawing, painting, etc., I haven't found a single thing on Google.

Does anyone out there with any experience mind giving a few tips to a newbie to this sort of this? I really appreciate any advice and tips from anyone. Thanks!

Best,

Zarchell

If I understand correctly you'r asking for advice on how to become a 3D artist. Don't focus on niche bound tutorials for something that's perfectly general, you'll only corner yourself.

If you're new to 3D modeling go for tutorials that teach you the program's UI, and teach you how to model, it doesn't mater what, trust me, any practice is good practice at this point.

Texturing. Pick up photoshop as its the universal tool ,or GIMP ,just as long as they have the DDS plugin, google tutorials for beginners and learn how to use it. Do some basic photo manip tutorials to get a grip on the most used tools to get working with textures. For small food items you shouldn't need more than a good 2D editing program.