Heavy Traffic ×

Making Modified Helm

Hey there folks this is my first time ever editing a mesh and Im having some trouble trying to edit a helmet from a mod basically im trying to recreate this

Heres the look im trying to recreate

but everything ive tried just crashes my game when I load it with my mesh in the override Im using 3DS Max by the way and as I said this is my first time editing a mesh so any help would be greatly appreciated!

P.S. I messaged the person who made the one in the pic but got no reply so I figured now is as good a time as any to learn to do it myself :thumbsup:

Edited by DarthDudo

• Replies 40
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Hi, I also got one of your messages but you never specified exactly what you were trying to do (new helmet or edit an existing one), but reading this I will assume that the question was in regard of this specific problem (editing a custom helmet you downloaded, and make the face visible).

Note that I've never done this specifically myself, and that I'm on vacation overseas without 3ds max in front of me and will have to write from my experience and memory. Also note that If you are goint to work from somethign someone else have done, you will need permission if you wish to share it later on (shouldnt be a problem if you only wish to use it for yourself):

.You will need:

3ds max

Eshme's tools (plugin to 3dsmax)

The toolset

Winrar/winzip

The mod you wish to modify

Start my downloading the mod "underworld armor" (I think that was the name?), and you should have a dazip. CHange the ending ".dazip" to ".zip" and you should be able to open it with either winrar or winzip (your choice).

Go through the different folders and try to find the ".erf" files. Assuming they have put the meshes where I usually do, you should go to Contents\packages\core\data and then extract the .erf file there to you desktop.