I'm an artist and always wanted to make textures for video games recently I made a 4k image texture for skyrim and it looks good when you're close and looking at it from a straight on position. Faraway it looks low res is there anything I can do to fix this. Also can anyone explain how many types of maps there are or a good place to learn about them. Thank you :) I use photoshop and gimp

• 2 months later...

Helo.

I am sorry to be slow responding. this has hung for months so hope u read.

I never had what seems like what you experienced on my game before. Maybe the issue has to do with mipmaps. those are lower resolution textures that are generated from higher resolution original one. Those are automatically swapped in at greater distances for performance.

You can set negative lod bias in enb settings to adjust the threshold. maybe if ur not on enb there is ini setting or gpu setting for this.

Anyway the mipmaps are generated automatically when you choose the option to do so in dds export plugin.

Its probably a good time to learn about the different maps. Cause there is a movement in 2d digital art that is emulating 3d rendering, making different maps and overlaying them.

Anyway i saw some paid courses with youtube videos "digital art with ambient occlusion" (ambient occlusion in game is always procedural btw) the one from "envato tuts" seemed good to me, there was a trailer and it was showing a bunch of different maps that was being used.

It had a 9day trial on it also seems nice.

I think that if ur experienced with the 2d art and learn from this type of way its slower path than foolowing a straight tutorial but they are aimed at the 2d artist so they are using the language that speaks directly to you and also you are understanding the theoretical background of it all.

I am not experienced in the art at all so for me it is totally backward from this.