My story with Skyrim Legendary Edition (basically startup problems)

SooSzi

TL;DR on the bottom.

So, I've been trying to run my Skyrim Legendary Edition for the past week or so. Day by day, night by night all I did whenever I had an occassion to touch the PC was to try and run Skyrim.

I started off as a total newb in modding and generally the technical stuff. It was years ago that I first tried my first mods for Skyrim. It was great, it was fun, everything was broken and everything kept crashing but it was mine. I did it and I was the one having fun. Then, life has taken Skyrim away from me for said years and only lately have I come back.

I got myself a Skyrim LE copy with all the shiny stuff and all. It was running just fine for the first 20 minutes. Then I decided to change the course of history (of Skyrim) and get some mods. The intro is boring and takes too long, the "Helgen sequence" is more fun if you mod 5 dragons into Solitude and simply rename it to "Solitude sequence" etc etc. Anyway, I closed the game and downloaded all the mod stuff I would need.

Got myself TES5EDIT, got myself NMM, got myself LOOT and then I embarked on an adventure to find the dankest mods in all nexusmods.com.

Over the minutes, hours, days I was getting better and better in modding, I started understanding things that people do not normally care to understand, I started paying attention to my load order, started doing cool things with TES5EDIT and generally got gud. Then, something unexpected and horrifying struck me down...

I experienced my first ever STARTUP CTD.

PANIC. Panic arised inside my head and for a second I was paralysed. "Think" - I said to myself - "Think, you're prepared for this. You've been training! You CAN do it!" and started mingling with the load order as I knew it was most likely the problem.