Blender/Nifskope Smoothing Errors

jkruse05

I've been working on creating a new barrel for the Institute laser weapons. The model uses a modified vanilla asset with some parts removed and new ones added. When I finally export and get the model into nifskope and/or the game I end up with smoothing and lighting errors all over the model.

Here's my workflow.

Export mesh from .ba2

Import into Nifskope

Export as .obj

Import to Blender 2.49 (I know, I know, there are newer versions)

Make edits. Made two cuts with the knife tool before adding new verts/faces

Export as .obj

Drop .obj into Outfit Studio

Export as .nif

Open in Nifskope and I get this

I suspect the issues lies either with the knife tool cuts, or with the switching between .obj and .nif. Unfortunately, I'm not experienced enough with Blender to know what exactly is causing the errors or how to fix them. I've tried adjusting the smoothing groups and removing duplicate vertices, but neither seemed to make a difference, even together. I've also tried separating my new geometry so the old and new vertices aren't connected (technically adding more double verts). That didn't seem to work either.

So, anyone out there know what I broke and/or how to fix it?

Edited by jkruse05

Just a note, you can use the current version of Blender with the current .nif export.

These details are critical http://www.darkcreations.org/forums/topic/10525-blender-27-nif-exporter-tutorial/

I've only been able to do statics, weapons and some clothing, certain pieces have bone weights that I loose (I suspect to be the problem). Someone mentioned outfit studio can help as a transition tool (haven't tried that).

My workflow.

Extract sample.nif - NifSkope export .obj - Blender Edit, export .nif (using link details, as Skyrim style) - Elrich.exe (in FO4 folder) Convert to FO4 style .nif - NifSkope paste geometry over existing 'sample.nif' and correct all branches to use the new geo, Save .nif