Storing Magicka

tomhardee

Idea:

A ring that can store magicka and allow its use later on for casting spells. This concept is similar to the Eragon and Dresden Files mechanics in the books where they were able to store magical energy in rings or other items and use it at a later time without expending their current reserves.

Mechanics:

A ring that stores magicka when you use channeling draining x magicka/s which is then stored as enchantment charge for when you run out of magicka in your available pool. When out of magicka the ring allows you to drain its charge keeping 1 magicka in your pool until ring reserves are empty.

Currently:

I'm working on the ring scripting now however I'm new to pex (though not to programming) and I already know how to apply the scripts and integrate them into items. I have a friend working on models but for now I'm using the standard diamond ring. I'd like a mentor/partner who is semi-fluent in pex or someone who could show me the ropes of how to achieve this mod.

Future:

• more rings and amulets
  • multiple tiers on the different rings
  • possibly store energy in a staff recharging it similar to another mod Charge or Fill by dybill.

This could probably be done with an ability that has a script attached to detect magicka being drained from a target. I am presently unsure how it would detect this with vanilla spells, however. If you do find a way to detect it, or if you make your own spell instead, it(or the new spell) could then write to a new Global Value, ie RawStoredMagicka.

You'd have to have an OnUpdate block for the spell itself, and make two functions which run within that: