[LE] How to remove HDT PE dependency?

Hellow there fellow modders,

First of all, this is my very first topic on the forums so please be gentle >.< I apologize if the question I'm about to ask (which is already stated in the title, I guess) is a stupid one. I'm fairly new to modding Skyrim in general and am not very familiar with some stuff, especially when it comes to meshes. So let me just hop right into it and explain what I'm trying to achieve:

I have an armor mod that I'd like to include within a separate mod (a standalone follower). Unfortunately, that armor mod requires the HDT physics extension as a hard dependency; if you don't have HDT PE installed, the game will CTD whenever you equip the armor or enter a cell with an NPC wearing it.

While I, personally, am using HDT PE by myself, I would be pretty fine with that - no problem. But since my ultimate goal is to create a standalone follower mod with that armor, it wouldn't be really "standalone" if it had such a requirement. Other people might not necessarily be interested in things like "jiggly body parts" or stuff like that.

So my question is: how - if it's even possible, I don't know - would I remove the HDT component from the armor mod? I assume it's somewhere in the mesh, but I'm really not sure. I googled for quite a while now to find a solution, and have found some posts about it (even here on the Nexus forums iirc) but they all explained it differently (none of the things I've read worked so far), or they didn't even describe my situation at all. I've tried to figure it out by myself afterwards, but to no avail.

Some people said, to add HDT support to a mesh, you would open it up in NifSkope and add a "NiStringExtraData" with the HDT Havok Path pointing to the extension's .xml file (where I assumed, to reverse that process, you would simply remove that data). When I opened up the armor mesh in NifSkope, there wasn't any kind of such extra string data to begin with.