Heavy Traffic ×

The issue with '$' in UI strings and a couple of ideas on how to go about trying to resolve it

Surilindur

Edit: See these ones, from people who actually know things, for actual information, they will help you, unlike my misinformed speculations:

Disclaimer

First of all, I am by no means an expert on the matter, nor am I in any capacity affiliated with the SkyUI team or any other authority on the matter. Anything contained in this post is based solely on my own observations of the issue, and it might or might not truthfully reflect the reality of the issue. The reader should therefore understand that any solutions presented here might or might not work, due to being based on information that can potentially be completely false and utterly misleading. Please, take this with an abolutely overwhelming grain of salt. As with anything on the Internet, the use of common sense is preferred, and should someone happen to have a more complete and/or truthful understanding of the issue, feel free to educate me. And in case there are any mistakes, no matter how small or insignificant they may seem, please, do point them out. Thank you.

Motivation

There seem to be threads created here, in the Skyrim section of The Nexus Forums, on a somewhat regular basis, about the issue in which dollar signs appear in UI strings. One of the most commonly suggested measures to resolve the issue seem to be to reinstall the affected mod or to verify game cache. While this usually should work, it does not necessarily always help everyone, and since the information about the actual causes of the issue is not exactly posted everywhere (at least not anywhere I would have spotted it), I thought it would be nice to write a small explanation with both the common reasons behind the issue and a couple of ideas on how to potentially go about fixing it.

The issue