Can All PC Games Be Modded?

Fkemman11

I'm not sure if this is the place to post this topic. But.........

I am fairly new to modding games and wonder if all games can have mods made for them. The reason I ask is that some exciting games are coming out this year and I have become somewhat of a mod junkie. So, does a game developer have to include support for mods with their title in order for it to be modded? If so, how much support? Does a dev's level of support dictate how extensively a game can be modded? Or is it all based on the level of interest a game generates? Or is it limited by the game's engine? For instance; the new Mass Effect is coming out and I am pretty sure I am going to want to mod it. Of course there are many other titles coming out that I'm sure others will want to mod as well. Any insight would be welcome. :smile:

Depends on the game. For example. CA's total war medieval 2 kingdoms is moddable. But Warhammer isn't as moddable. It depends on how the devs make the game and if they support mods. For example. Some games have a lot of Hard code in them. So they can't be altered easily.

Edited by jawa9kid

Depends on the game. For example. CA's total war medieval 2 kingdoms is moddable. But Warhammer isn't as moddable. It depends on how the devs make the game and if they support mods. For example. Some games have a lot of Hard code in them. So they can't be altered easily.

If a dev does not offer mod support for a game does that mean it cannot be modded? Is this what you mean by hard- coded? I'll look it up. Thanks! :smile:

If a game is 'moddable', usually its because the source code has been released to the public, or, devs will release Software Development Kits (SDKs) which allow you to create content and port it over to the source code

Do game devs ever intentionally discourage mods for their games?

Yep, cause they don't want to cede control to users or to prevent people from ruining online (e.g. in overwatch) game modes.