GetNVSEVersion Not Found

IanKolb23

I am new to the entire PC gaming world, even more new to the modding aspect of it. I have installed quite a few mods for Fallout New Vegas, and followed their Readme Files step by step, and the first thing I did, was install NVSE. I moved the files into the Fallout New Vegas folder, Not the data folder, and started the game via the NVSE launcher. After letting it load to the main screen, I opened the prompt with ~, and typed GetNVSEVersion and got this:

GetNVSEVersion

SCRIPTS Script SysWindowsCompileAndRun

line 1 Scriptcommand GotNVSEVersion not found

I have tried looking these past few days, I have even uninstalled and reinstalled New Vegas after deleting everything for it, everything from the steamapps folder, and everything from the My Documents folder, except for my save.

Nothing is working, please help

If you enabled "logging" in the "nvse_config.ini" file, see if there is an "nvse.log" file in the game root folder (i.e. "common\Fallout New Vegas"). If so, paste it into your reply. (Use the "Special BBCode" button in the Forum "Reply" menu bar as the third icon from the left in the top row, next to and left of the "Font" pick-list field to put the log in "Spoiler" tags.)

Did you install Steam under the default location of the "C:\Program Files" tree? This causes many "strange" problems not otherwise explainable. As painful as it may sound, read the wiki article Installing Games on Windows Vista+ and move at least FNV. That article has a link to the official Steam Procedure (a good indication that they now recognize the need to correct this). This should be the first solution you try. Otherwise you will spend a lot of time and effort trying other solutions, and still have to move the game files in the end anyway.