Having trouble changing GlobalVariable

So, I'm brand new to scripting, and it's REALLY not wanting to be kind to me.

Basically, I'm just trying to have a script that can be called on by papyrus fragments to modify a global variable up or down. I figured it would be easy, but everything I do fails.

Most recently, the issue I've been running into is defining the global property at the beginning. If I only have...

Scriptname MyScript extends Quest

GlobalVariable Property MyGlobal Auto
It fails every time, saying "cannot name a variable or property the same as a known type or script". I don't know why this is so tricky for me, but it really is. If someone could just let me know how I'd go about modifying a global up and down, that would be fantastic

Change the name. Can't use "MyGlobal", thats what it's telling you.

You can also change global in fragment if you don't want to make new script for it. This can be in dialogue or in stage. (and Yes, they can be fired multiple times with setStage even when current stage doesn't change).

You can just do:

mahGlobal.SetValue(1)

and make property named mahGlobal first.

Change the name. Can't use "MyGlobal", thats what it's telling you.

You can also change global in fragment if you don't want to make new script for it. This can be in dialogue or in stage. (and Yes, they can be fired multiple times with setStage even when current stage doesn't change).

You can just do:

mahGlobal.SetValue(1)

and make property named mahGlobal first.

I was just using "myGlobal" as an example, it's not actually named that. I've actually named it a bunch of different things cause I thought that was the issue, and none of them worked. And I was actually wanting to add/subtract numbers from it, not just set it. Is that possible?

EDIT: And now I tried exactly what you said, copy/pasting what you wrote (but changing the global name to mine) and it tells me

"setvalue is not a function or does not exist"