I Need Help Getting Textures to Work

LordNyron

I've been at this for a few days and I'm about to lose it if I can't figure this out. I'm trying to get hair and clothing models from Skyrim mods in order to use them for personal projects. My goal is to get them into Blender and attach them a character model I built in Daz Studio. And while I can export the model NIF as an OBJ file and import that into Blender 2.78, I then run into the problem I've been having all week. The first thing I have to do is recalculate the normals to fix dark spots on the model. Then I set the texture to the one I want to use and set the material to the alpha texture. However, when I render the image to see if the hair model looks right, it doesn't. The texture I selected doesn't even show up on the model and the model now has dark patches on it and maybe a few lines here or there. I can barely see the alpha texture on it.

Full disclosure, I'm new to both textures and 3D modelling in general. So if I made some sort of rookie mistake then let me know, but my assumption has been that the alpha texture is supposed to make the polygon strips transparent and then the regular texture goes over top of that so that it actually looks like hair(or whatever you desire the object to be.). However, even if the alpha did its assumed job, the regular texture still isn't even appearing. If I load it up as a material it shows up, but the polygon strip underneath is still clearly visible.

I tried loading up a different model and I got the same problem. Except this time some of the model was a light lavender color instead of white.