.Pex Scripting Editing & Recompiling

Hello I'm trying to open a .pex up tweak it & repackage it, the mod author abandoned the mod in 2012 and gave full permission to take over, so where do I begin to learn this? I'm trying to fix a flying mod that uses wings and has infinite stamina, I'm trying to remove the infinate stamina part to have it drain normally by messing around in Creation Kit. it looks as though this has been baked in to the custom script. I've never done this before so where should I begin to learn this?

the script is in the .pex am I missing something maybe simple in the creation kit as far as Maybe magic effect Values need to be changed?

I have a copy of the .pex if anyone knows how to open it up and look.

Thanks

I am not an expert at scripting (at all), but generally there are two versions of a script in Skyrim/Papyrus, with those two being:

• scriptname.pex - this is the 'compiled' version that is executed by Papyrus and is probably not intended to be edited or read
  • scriptname.psc - this is the 'source code' version, a human-readable and editable file that needs to be compiled to .pex before it can be run in-game, and the .psc one is probably the one you are after if you want to edit a script

If the mod has a .psc version of the script somewhere (it probably has the same name as the .pex one), then you can open the .psc with any text editor and start editing. When you have finished, you can recompile the .psc with the Papyrus Compiler somehow (for example there exists the Sublime Papyrus plugin for Sublime Text 3 if you happen to use that text editor). I have never compiled a script through the CK, but from what I have noticed, it should be possible to edit and compile a script through it.