Tips/Advice/Instructions for someone doing a dual boot for first time

As the title suggests, I plan on making a dual boot system with my laptop (ASUS GL502VS), mainly for the purpose of bypassing the 4GB VRAM limit on DX9 applications (Skyrim). I've never done this before and while I figured I can just find a guide to installing a dual boot, I was wondering if anyone had some words of wisdom or answers to a couple questions because I am honestly and completely clueless.

I plan to use Windows 10 as my main operating system as it was pre-installed onto my laptop when I bought it and occupies the main SSD. I've ordered an external SSD (USB 3.1 type C) to install Windows 7 and Skyrim onto. These are my main questions:

Will an external SSD, even though it's connected via USB 3.1 type C (which is supposedly very fast) slow my game down? I've heard that USB 3.1 has speeds that can compete with internal SATA, but I know little more than this.

How will I go about moving Skyrim over onto my external SSD? I'm guessing it won't function properly to simply drag and drop Skyrim and all of my mods (I use Mod Organizer) onto the SSD and hope that it will work? What will I have to do to make Skyrim and Mod Organizer function properly?

Am I able to run only Skyrim off of my external SSD while running other Steam games off of my internal SSD, or will I have to install everything Steam-related onto my external drive?

Despite Windows 10 being pre-installed on my internal SSD (I have no registration key or anything for it), is it possible to install it on my external SSD instead and install Windows 7 on my internal SSD?

In addition to this, if you have any tips or advice based on the information you've read above, sharing it would be extremely appreciated.

Thank you for your time.