Help with creating buildable buildings

Hello All,

I'm quite new to the Creation Kit, but am trying to create a buildable LynnWoods tower with the base.

So I have two questions;

- How do I merge multiple objects to create the base?

- What is needed for the building to be "buildable"? I have so far managed to get the tower to appear in the building menu (under concrete/Micellanious), and when in game it show's up OK, but it stays red, and never goes green to indicate that it can be built.

Any help would be appriciated.

If my explanations are unclear, please do not hesitate to say so.

Thanks.

Justin

an interesting question.

I hope a modder of greater mod fu than I, will be along shortly to assist you hehe,

my modfu for FO4 is not strong,

though I tentatively share some ideas below.

"how do I create an instance-dependent base/ 'ploppable combination'?

--- this thread will get you looking in the right direction

https://forums.nexusmods.com/index.php?/topic/5522717-fallout-4-optimization-and-performance-systems-explained/

above: this has links to guides from some folks who've made 'plopable houses' or other settlement parts packs.

I further recommend DDProductions and DarthWayne's guides.

I think you have to make your own likeness to that lynnwoods' tower though...

Shavkacagarikia wrote several snippets before which also help to quick-n-dirty test your settlement build,

I think it was from late '15 about cinderblocks, but the snippets should still be good hehe.

its for a flat surface, or 'requires water' constraints for the building part.

thanks again, shavkacagarikia!

if you want it to be all ploppable as one unit, yet still be separate parts that are 'pre-snap'd "

that's trickier, and we'll have to wait until the settlement Visual Similarity Reference Index mod framework is complete for that.

this'll let you get the attached pathing and copy-n-paste the selected building parts attached to that node.