Fed Up w/ Skyrim CTD TMP Save Bug

LilMrsMoffett

I used to love playing Skyrim, but I had only ever played it on the XBox 360. When I saw the awesome things one could do with mods, I decided I wanted to buy Skyrim on Steam and play it on my laptop. My husband bought it for me for Christmas and me, completely inexperienced with modding and the problems that occur, starting adding mods. Long story short, I now know how to update things, I now use LOOT and GenerateFNIS every time I add/remove/update mods, etc. Still, I am not very tech savvy and there are plenty of things I am not familiar with/don't understand.

But there's one problem that has angered me to no end, with no solution in sight.

Quite a while ago (not sure how long, or what exactly may have started this) I began having a problem where, after playing the game for so long (usually I'd be at least level 30), I'd go to save and immediately upon clicking "save" my game would crash to desktop. I could not figure out how to fix the problem and would lose characters that I had put a lot of time and effort into (especially since I take great care customizing the appearance and trying to roleplay as much as possible).

Once, someone suggested that it was something called "save bloat" causing the problems, even though the Unofficial Skyrim patch is supposed prevent this. The aforementioned person suggested going into Skyrim, opening up the save menu, alt+tabbing out, going into the Skyrim Saves folder, and moving all saves to another folder so that the game would no longer recognize those saves and I could make a brand new save 1. This kinda works. Most of the time, I can get one or two saves in before the problem happens again. So I'm still at a loss.

Once I made sure to get rid of any mods that didn't come from Nexus, made sure all my mods were updated, and ran GenerateFNIS and LOOT, as well as removing some mods I wasn't dying to have, things seemed to get better.