Dangers of tweaking mods for personal use?

kvngreeley

Just a general question since I am still learning how mods work. And thanks to everyone for being so helpful and patient!

If I am tweaking new items in mods to fix issues with ground meshes, missing icons, errors in stats, excessively high stats, etc., are there any risks that I should know about?

Theskymoves helped open a door for me in resolving a previous ground mesh problem and now I want to tweak things as I discover them in testing. I know about cleaning the mod after, I have backups of the original files in case something goes wrong, and I think I know how to not change something that would promulgate throughout the game.

But I wonder if there could be things Iâm not aware of and should watch for. I have tweaked about 5 mods now and subsequent testing didnât reveal any problems.

So far, I have switched several item ground meshes, switched an icon, changed a naming mistake, changed a mistake in a value, and changed a mistake in an AR. These seem like innocent enough changes. I havenât touched NPCs or dialog and I donât know anything about scripts or stuff like that.

But I also have some cheat mods that I would like to scale back quite a bit. It also seems like you could tweak just about everything in a new item if there was a genuine reason and it was for personal use.

Is there anything I should be wary of? I am careful not to make any unintended changes, I clean the updated ESP after, I run MLOX again, and then I test the changes.

Thanks for any advice.

Doing it this way is a good way to learn. Keep a copy of the original file just in case you screw it up you can start your tweaking over again. I've used this method to alter another authour's mod to my own tastes. Just keep in mind that it's for your own use and don't post it without the original authour's permission.

The Rabbit