Possible "mod pack" option?

DawnflareCB

I'm not sure if this idea has been brought up before, and I wouldn't be surprised if it has, but has anyone every thought of using the NMM backup and restore file feature as a form of "mod pack"? I have yet to try this, and it sounds plausible, but since I'm still new to the whole modding thing, then it would probably be best for someone else to figure this out.

I reckon something like a curated mod pack using the Nexus Mod Manager could be done. What would happen is that you download individual mod files, then have an option to group several together into a merged mod, but still retaining the original mods in a separate folder. The Nexus Mod Manager would search the Nexus first to check for existing compatibility patches for the mods that are being combined together, grab them and include them in the merged mod, and potentially search for additional clashes and ask the user how they would like to address them (i.e. discard mod A's changes in favour of mod B's).

The merged mods would essentially function like a playlist file that refers to different music files, but notes the order of installation to eliminate dependency clashes and maybe also checks for and downloads files that might be needed for one of the mods to function. You could then share the curated list to Nexus Mods via the Mod Manager for other people to utilise. What would happen for them is that downloading the list will trigger the Mod Manager to download all of the required files if they don't have them, along with compatibility patches and use your settings to create the merged mod plugin. The bonus would be that so long as the individual mod authors make their mods available on the Nexus, this could neatly side-step the copyright and permission issues involved with combining different mods into mega-mod packs for re-downloading off the Nexus.