high-tech/institute version of Robot workbench?

JonarusDrakus

Short version - How has nobody done this yet? There are mods for Institute versions of 'normal' workbenches - there is a mod to craft gen1/2 synths at existing robot workbenches... Why not combine the two and have a high-tech skinned version of the robo-crafting station that looks like it belong in the Institutes 'robotics' department?

Now, I'm a student of 3D art myself, I *could* make this myself - the question is, what programs would I need outside of those I already have?
I have 3DsMax (2017), and the Adobe 'creative cloud' (including photoshop).

Anyway, let us see where we can take this hmm?

~JD

I agree, and was just thinking of this the other day as I was making an Institute version of Greygarden.

I think all you need beyond what you have is the .nif plugin for 3ds Max and a .dds plugin for Photoshop, then Nifskope and the Material editor.

I use Blender and GIMP, so I'm not 100% positive on those, but my impression is that the 3ds plugin exports a good enough .nif that you can clean it up in Nifskope and it will work.

Phai jkruse05! Love your 'electrolasers' mod BTW.

My suggestions for 3DsMax/photoshop are based primarily on a 'thats what I'm trained on' mentality... I -have- blender, but I've never figured out how to actually USE it... ^^;

I guess the only remaining question is... Do I try to build something from scratch, or 'kitbash' existing in-game items... Hmm... (For the later I'm pretty sure I'd need some other program to 'extract' the required parts from the game-files... or can Nifskope handle that?).

~JD

Building from scratch will probably look better, but kitbashing from existing Institute parts will save you at least part of the effort of making textures.

Nifskope will let you convert vanilla models to .obj, just in case importing a standard .nif doesn't work. To extract them from the compressed files you'll need the Bethesda Archive Extractor.