Unable to get NIF models working in game

EDIT = I've got the Nif Tools for Blender working now! Turns out my dumb *rear end* was downloading experimental version of PyFFI and Blender NIF Scripts, that had more prerequisite requirements than listed on the website. I used stable version and everything is golden.

Hi Everyone,

Novice here! I'm familiar with the Creation Kit for Fallout 4, and used to do level design for mods for Skyrim. I decided to have a bash at making an item mod for Fallout 4. I have the .obj file ready to go, but I'm unable to get it in game. I've looked up many tutorials and troubleshooting, and nothing has given me a clear answer or workaround.

I've tried importing the OBJ file into NIFScope. It doesn't give me any errors, yet nothing shows up in NifScope. It does say there are a number of vertices and objects in the file, yet it will not show them. Figuring the object is there (as NifScope says they are there) I saved it to a NIF file. When I try to set the model in the Creation Kit, I get an error and nothing works.

I've tried installing the NIFtools for Blender, but the installer for the prerequisite Python software will not install and there doesn't seem to be anything I can do to fix it.

Any advice on how to get an OBJ file correctly imported in game? The rest of the mod is ready to go!

I'm not adverse to anyone wanting just convert the models to NIF's themselves - I don't know if that's easier than trying to explain it!

Thanks in advance,

Erith - Hibblejaybob

Edited by Hibblejaybob

I don't know much about Fallout 4, but I do know that .obj files will not display in the game. NifScope also will not display .obj files. Any .obj files must be converted to .nif files through Blender.

There is a certain install order that must be followed when installing Blender.

1. Install Python

2. Install Blender I don't know if there are any NifScripts available for Blender 2.79. If not, you will have to install Blender 2.49 also.