Hello. Newbie here. Is modding safe?

ironsapp

Hello everyone. I play Fallout 4. I had some OS stability problems after installing around 150 mods from Nexus through the mod manager. I was wandering if it is safe to do so. The GeekSquad at Best Buy couldn't determine if they were safe or not after doing a fresh OS repair. They were really kind of useless except for the OS repair, but knew nothing about gaming on the PC. So is modding safe?

P.S. I also used Loot and Wrye Bash, and downloaded the Fallout4 Script Extender.

Edited by ironsapp

safe how? I mean , if you know what you are doing , you shouldn't be able to damage your PC with modding (unless you install some shady mods from other sites , which could contain viruses)

can it harm your game installation? technically yes , it can . nothing that can't be fixed with a fresh new installation , but it could cause issues

don't know if it could somehow causes OS problems , never heard of such a case (and I believe that if the mod doesn't contain any virus or malware , it shouldn't cause any issues with your PC or OS)

personally I've been modding games for around 10 years now , and never really had any issues with it (other than me making mistakes or trying to use incompatible mods , errors on my end)

so I would consider modding to be safe

but if you want to explain the specification of your question , it would help us give you a better answer

How much more specific can I get? It wasn't until I downloaded the mods from Nexus that I started get BSoD Crashes. Fallout 4 ran fine at first. Then Squad would BSoD Crash on me. Then Squad just wouldn't load, as well Fallout 4. Then my Taskbar wouldn't work. All in that order. The only apps I downloaded not from Nexus to assist in the mods and load order were Loot, Wrye, and F4SE.

from the original post , I don't think it was clear that the problems actually began right after installing the mods , nor what the problems actually were