Merging mods

jimbo4822

Hello, I have been modding for a few years and have just recently started using Vortex, I like how it works. I never really had the need to merge patches to much so never really did it much, in my recent Fallout build I was using mod manager 2 and was following a post on mator smash. That build of Fallout 4 has over 300 mods but I was able to merge many of them. Now if i remember correctly in mator the mods to be merged have to be next to each other to make the merged patch, cant really do that with Vortex. Also, I really haven't found any tutorials on merging patches with Vortex, and most videos about Vortex are on the first builds and It appears that much has changed. So, anyone able to point me to info on proper merging of mods with Vortex. I am neariing250 active mods in Skyrim and might need to stop adding soon.

I am really liking Vortex, after the learning curve.

To merge mods, you need to use xEdit and/or WryeBash. It hasn't got anthing to do with Vortex.

Which plugins can and should be merged together is a whole separate issue. There are some guidlines (like, "merge all mods that concern the same objects and their compatibility patches into one"). Also you have to consider whether a mod is updated frequently, then I wouldn't put it into a merge - updating a merge because one of the included plugins got an update, is really a nuissance.

But there are better forums and sources of information for this than the Vortex forum. As far as Vortex is concerned, just create the merged plugin, Vortex will see and list it in the Plugins tab, you can dis- or enable it there, but it won't touch it otherwise.

Thank you I just wanted to be sure there was nothing specifically different with Vortex. I do remember that in Mator smash the plugin to be merged needed to be all next to each other in the load order, which would be problematic in Vortex. I don't have much if any experience with Wyre Bash so I have some reading to do.

Thanks again