ENB transparent objects issue

VelocityPolaris

Hullo, I'm a total noob to the mod-installing scene, about as tech-savvy as my grandma, but I apologise in advance for talking like a character who just failed several science checks. Still, both attempts at help and overused meme copypasta are appreciated.

Basically, every time I try to install an ENB (Rudy or ENB of the apocalypse are the two I tried), I get that weird glitch where you can see bodies of water, barrels, foliage through rocks, and it's pretty hecking jarring. All other mods work just fine, so I've been going without the ENB all the way up to Freeside, but sometimes you get sick of the frakking grand canyon looking kind of ugly, you know?

Having watched some tutorial videos, I am aware that before playing, one should pull up the pre-launch New Vegas menu and disable anti-aliasing, anisotropic filtering, and water displacement. Steam overlay is also off - still getting that problem.

By the way, I have a Windows 10-running PC named "The Beefeater", have an NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1070 graphics card, and am running the necessary bugfix and ENB-required mods off of mod manager, though the ENB files are obviously put manually into the New Vegas data, as per instructions.

I vaguely suspect "graphics card settings" might be involved somehow here, but I can't figure out how to access or change that stuff. Also, every time the computer powers up and I load New Vegas, an icon for "press alt-z to enable g-force overlay or something like that" shows up, freezing the game loading at the big "Bethesda softworks" screen. Exiting out and loading it again enables playing the game - I don't have a problem with that, but just noting it in case it's a clue for the ENB issue.