[LE] Help with making a new stat?

Hello, everyone. I'm really new to Papyrus, but am an experienced software developer - that said, I don't need anybody to hold my hand through what I'm about to ask, I just need a push in the right direction.

I'm hoping to make a mod that adds a new stat for the PC. I'd break what I want down like so:

1. A number that changes over time, saves, and can be accessed elsewhere
  2. Adding new behavior to vanilla player actions, causing those actions to increase the stat.
  3. Causing certain vanilla items to increase in sell price based on the stat, and certain weapons to increase in attack power based on the stat
  4. Creating a power (similar to werewolf transformation) that becomes available to the PC after the stat reaches a certain value

It seems like this sort of mod isn't something a whole lot of people do, so I haven't been able to find any tutorials on it. If anyone can point me to the kinds of things I should generally be trying to emulate in making this mod, I would greatly appreciate it <3

Oh, and to clarify, I don't want to add a stat that contributes to player level or uses perk points. Think more along the lines of the "Become a Bard" mod's bard prestige level.

Edited by ctenochaetus

For the "stat" you would be best to track it with a global value at least in my modest opinion, see creationkit.com for info on global. That way you'll be able to change and reference the current value from multiple scripts or quests as necessary.

You can even when crafting your "transformation" script to check in papyrus if your global is at an appropriate value, say => 100 as a condition so when it goes through the cycle it could reset and you have to build it back up to transform again.

You can control the duration of your transformation a variety of ways, but using an int property you can set a timer so to speak via a Utility.Wait(timerint) command before reverting, so that way you can bump up the duration to whatever you want.