[LE] Script for adding items randomly to an inventory?

huggibee

Hello! I'm looking for some help in the creation of a script that's maybe attatched to an object (notebook) and when placed in an npc inventory, spawns objects (paper entries) at random intervals. Is this possible? If so, would anyone be willing to help me?

Thanks in advance!

I am also a beginner, so for learning purposes, I will give this one a shot.

EDIT - The script has one major flaw, apparently its completely impossible to make inventory items persistent, even forcefully. So OnUpdate() never calls, I am not sure how to work around that without using while loops, and I am not sure if that's even ok to do, for threading reasons.

Scriptname MyScriptName extends ObjectReference  
{Spawns inventory items, in inventory, at random intervals. Written by Wilbur Cobb / smashballsx88}

Keyword property ActorKW auto	;Set this to ActorTypeNPC to filter for NPCs.

FormList property MyItems auto	;Create a form list of all the items you want spawned.

ObjectReference addRef	;The container to add the items to.

int flSize	;Int to assign the form list size to.

bool inInv	;Ensures termination on inventory removal, all bool values check true by default.

Event OnContainerChanged(ObjectReference akNewContainer, ObjectReference akOldContainer)
	if akNewContainer.HasKeyword(ActorKW)	;Checks if the container matches the key word.
		addRef = akNewContainer	;Assigns the current container, to the container reference.
		inInv = true
		gotoState("Looping")	;Goes into the looping state to start item spawning.
	else	;If the container is anything that doesnt match the keyword, terminate.
		inInv = false
		UnregisterForUpdateGameTime()
		gotoState("")
	endif
endEvent

state Looping	;This state will only fire once until the state changes. This is to prevent update stacking for this script.
	Event OnBeginState()
		flSize = MyItems.GetSize()	;Assigns form list size to an int