GMST cleaning from downloaded mods

dalongbao

I'd appreciate any help on this. I'm new to modding anything and I'm struggling to get my mind around the terms and keep finding inconsistent advice from various sources.

I've been searching around for few days now for information on GMSTs. I've managed to figure out that they are game settings, Tribunal and Bloodmoon added new GMSTs that Morrowind didn't have so if you go and make a mod with only Morrowind as the parent, then you'll end up having "dirty" GMSTs in place of what should be there from Bloodmoon and Tribunal settings.

I've found at least a partial list of GMST values (http://wiki.theassimilationlab.com/mmw/GMST_Contamination). Does anyone have a more complete list?

My concern is making sure the mods I download don't have "dirty" GMSTs. I've read that TEStool, tes3cmd, among others are recommended to clean a mod. However, I've also read that sometimes a mod will change a GMST on purpose. I wouldn't want to use a cleaning tool and have it reset an intended change!

It lists sTeleportDisabled as having a GMST Value of "Teleportation magic does not work here." The entries for Tribunal and Bloodmoon are blank. So since they are blank, that means they are by default "dirty" values? Other GMSTs have different values: iWereWolfBounty goes from 10000 to 1000 on the supposed "dirty" column to "Bloodmoon" column.

Some of the mods I have downloaded have the values in "GMST Value" instead of either "Tribunal" or "Bloodmoon." Should I just change these values, or do I need to do something else? Example: "sMagicFabricantID" is set to "Fabricant" in a mod that has only morrowind.esm as parent but is set to "Fabricant_summon" in other mods with Tribunal as parent. If load both of these mods when I play, what happens? Do the correct values get set or does it use whatever settings are present in the last loaded plugin?