Is Vortex a needlessly more confusing than NMM or it's just me?

Narfiam

I'm going to start saying that I've been using NMM for years (since 2012-2013).

I always download mods from Nexus using the NMM, and the manual downloads for mods without the manager download option by drop and draging the compressed files into the NMM too.

OK, I haven't played Skyrim for a year, yesterday I installed it and downloaded Vortex. I started to download several mods as I always did with NMM but with Vortex, so far so good. But when I started to install mods I got very confused by the conflict and redundanct terms of the messages in the upper right corner of the interface when a mod/patch/translation have the same files of a mod installed before. I've had enough and eventually I have uninstalled Skyrim, fed up.

Why the devs don't added the "Yes to all" option for overwrite when installing a mod with overwriting files? It was simple and worked, better than that confusing weird thing with checkboxes.

And also, why putting the not installed and recentily downloades mods and installed mods in different places of the mod manager? It forces you to navigate more. It was better in NMM, all in the same window with a simple check symbol in the installed mods and the ongoing download in a smallbox below.

I see some things pretty pointless.

Edited by Narfiam

honestly, i though the same about vortex, but now im using it and can say its better far than nmm, obviously the download speed cap is a sht but ye its better in all other characteristics

The speed cap has been around long before Vortex was even an idea.

Vortex is not really needlessly complicated it's that NMM is stupid simple. Vortex has several odd design choices but is far from confusing just different and new.

Does it still work with the Manager Download option of the page?

Yes, but you'll probably have to configure it manually to make it work.