Can my comupter handle modding?

I'm a newbie here and I have just moved my gaming from a PS3 to my aging laptop. It has a 2.30 ghz AMD A10-4600M APU processor with Radeon HD 7660G Graphics, 6 GB ram, and running Windows 8.1. I'm saving up for a new 'gaming' machine but until I can get one is my machine usable for gaming with mods? Is there a way to tell if a mod will run or is it just trial and error every time? I mostly play Skyrim Legendary and it plays okay but it's better if I lower the display resolution a little and set the detail level to medium. I'd like to try Skyrim SE with mods. I also want to move on to newer games as well but I know they will mostly require a more powerful machine.

Edited by iwannabespock

As someone who played a heavily modded Skyrim on an abacus, I feel uniquely qualified to answer your question. :D

Please note that SSE won't run on your rig unless you're running a 64-bit version of Windows. I'll presume that you are, since you're considering playing it.

The trick is not in the mods, it's in what kind of mods. You want to stay away from anything that ups the resolution on a large scale, such as mods which add more plants or 4K mods for buildings. You'll also want to avoid anything which adds a lot of new NPCs in the form of patrols or more city guards. Focus on your PC rather than the environment. Hairs, bodies, clothes, skins, tattoos, armors and weapons are all possible. New homes are also doable, especially those by Elianora who often offers a lower resolution for those playing on abacae. Even new companions are possible, since the follower system is already in place, and I have successfully used mods which added new types of animals.