New building and exterior vanilla navmeshes

Hi, so I am working on a house for my follower. I have done inside navmeshing but only in new cells so haven't had a need to tinker with vanilla cells or navmeshes. So I am at a loss now, my follower's house is in an exterior cell. I have flattened the ground so that I could place the house but the navmesh itself is left untouched. I don't want to mess anything up. How would I best go about this? I would like to just move around some bits and finalize but it would look sooo ugly and might make followers act weird.

I found this advice on another site:

I'm not an expert, but I've been fighting navmesh issues with my Helgen Rebuilt mod for months. Here's a few things I've learned or have been told to do or not to do.

1- NEVER delete an island navmesh. Move it underground. Also, NEVER connect an island navmesh to a non-island navmesh. This essentially deletes it because it is no longer an island if it is connected back to a normal navmesh.
2 - Wherever possible, try to just move existing verts around to accommodate what you're trying to accomplish.
3- Others may disagree with this one, but in certain places, I try to use primitives set to L_NAVCUT to cut the existing vanilla navmesh where I place objects in the middle of a navmesh. For example, say I place a tree somewhere that's already navmeshed, I can select the tree, click on the create trigger button and it will draw a primitive around the tree. Make sure it is penetrating the navmesh, and set it to L_NAVCUT, and it will cut out the navmesh where it goes through it.

Image of my particular scenario:

PIKcZxD.jpg