Disable Skyrim SE autoupdate? How?

anjenthedog

It's probably been asked before, but I didn't see anything pinned, so I'm asking ?again?

Background: I'm new to Skyrim (relatively speaking) and have only been playing for a couple of months, since I recently (Feb 2019) purchased a new computer that can run it. In addition, although I've played computer games on-and-off for almost 40 years, the level of this game, at least in terms of configuration, is unlike anything I dealt with before. (the last game that compares in even the slightest way is FFXI, which I last played back in 2012.

FYI, The game was purchased from steam and is run from/through steam.

So... I'm not exactly sure how to disable game autoupdate (nor for that matter) how to run skyrim offline.

Can someone please spell it out for me? I opened steam and checked in there as best I could, but it's a maze and nothing stuck out as being a suitable selection for "disable auto-update. I either missed the setting, didn't look in the right menu or submenu for the setting, it's labeled differently than what I'd expect "disable game auto-updates", or something else. (I may just be as dumb as a pile of bricks...forgive me if that's the case)