Need help making custom NPC dialogue talk/quest

lorddonk

Hi community! I am completely new to modding and was raring excitement at the prospect of creating my own quest. 2 hours later now, it has been sucked out of me by something seemingly so menial that I have seen this question all over online without any responses.

I thought a great place to start would be this http://www.creationkit.com/Bethesda_Tutorial_Dialogue mod tutorial series. I'm following along exactly and am up to the Try It Out section on that page. I have made my own NPC and customized its clothes, placed it and can see it in game (as per the previous tutorials in the series), but I cannot for the life of me get him to talk.

I have my Dialogue window exactly the same as the one shown on that page, but when I walk up and talk to the NPC he does NOT say any of the things I have selected. He says the same things every other NPC says like "Oh, hello" "Can I help you?" "etc,

Can anyone point out what I could have done wrong? Or perhaps, does that tutorial not mention a tick box or something somewhere which would cause the NPC not to run my custom dialogue?

I'm desperate! I've uploaded the "mod file" if anyone can take the time to install it and see what it wrong? At this point, I've gone through and checked a few extra things that are not in that guide.

Edited by lorddonk

First off, you're going to want to make sure that you've created and assigned a new, custom voicetype for your NPC - even if he or she is not going to be voiced. Otherwise the dialogue options might get all mucked up.

Secondly, it's a good idea to give every line of dialogue a GetIsID condition (with your custom NPC as the "GetIsID" value). This will keep the dialogue you write restricted to the character in question.