Open Community  ·  421 members

Stardew Valley

Noob Modder - need help please

Taskmaster2

Hello anyone with modding skill. I am attempting to learn a little about modding Stardew Valley, and sending a letter seems like a simple way to do that. According to Stardew Valley Wiki (https://stardewvalleywiki.com/Modding:Common_tasks) it is a common task.

I have the entry method, and I've tapped into the "new day event" to determine if I need to send the letter, but I need to insert the letter into the mail database, if you will. I have some C# experience, but not all concepts.

Wiki:

"Use IAssetEditor to inject new mail into Data\Mail.xnb" That sounds simple, but so far I am not able to find any examples of doing this.

I would appreciate any insight or assistance. Thank you in advance.

Hello! MissCoriel here,

Why don't you tell us what exactly you want to do for modding. Sending Letters in game doesn't need coding experience. As a matter of fact, a good amount of modding can be done without any coding at all.

Content Patcher can do that for you by simply doing the following in a content.json:

{

"Format": "1.9",
	"Changes": [

{

"Action": "EditData",
			"Target": "Data/Mail",
			"Entries": {

"Example_Mail": "This is a test mail.^^^ That is all^^^ From,^       Myself",
			},
		},

{

"Action": "EditData",
			"Target": "Data/Events/Farm",
			"Entries": {

"9595959595/e 60367/u 1/x Example_Mail": "null",

},
		},

]

}

That will mail you that letter the day after you seen the opening event.

If you have an idea of what you want to do please let us know and also don't be afraid to join the Discord and meet us. It's pinned in the Forum.

<3

Thank you for the reply. Since I am attempting to learn how to mod, via code, I prefer not to mess with anything other than SMAPI for now. I have some C# experience so after reviewing the source code from Mail Framework, I have managed to display a letter in the mailbox using SMAPI only. Digus, if you read this, thank you.