Acronyms

popvirus2

I would like to make a suggestion/recommendation for mod authors. Some of the authors already follow this method and I was hoping to "standardize" the way acronyms are introduced/used on the description page..

Now mind you, I am a retired engineer and not an English professor...and a lot of people may see this as nit-picky however..,.

The subject of Acronyms was addressed in a Technical Writing class I had many, many years ago.

They taught the proper way to introduce an acronym into your writing is to type out the full "thing" to be "acronymedized" then use the acronym (Capital Letters) for the rest of your subject unless there is a specific need to use the long version.

Example:

Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD)

IMO this would make reading the descriptions a lot simpler...especially for the new folks. I totally understand most of the time you can figure it out, but.....

Thank you to all the mod authors for your hard, dedicated work that makes this site what it is...

V/R,

pops

I would like to make a suggestion/recommendation for mod authors. Some of the authors already follow this method and I was hoping to "standardize" the way acronyms are introduced/used on the description page..

Now mind you, I am a retired engineer and not an English professor...and a lot of people may see this as nit-picky however..,.

The subject of Acronyms was addressed in a Technical Writing class I had many, many years ago.

They taught the proper way to introduce an acronym into your writing is to type out the full "thing" to be "acronymedized" then use the acronym (Capital Letters) for the rest of your subject unless there is a specific need to use the long version.

Example:

Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD)

IMO this would make reading the descriptions a lot simpler...especially for the new folks. I totally understand most of the time you can figure it out, but.....