player character gender mismatch

technoxenoholic

hi folks, i've been digging for some kind of tutorial to try and figure out doing this myself but i'm very lost and i have very little coding knowledge (mainly html and visual basic, neither of which helps with this). i am but a simple transgender person who would greatly appreciate having a mod to either:

a) remove gendered language towards the player (ex. hancock calling you "brother" or "sister" in different voice lines) -- or, failing that:

b) make npcs perceive a "female" character as male (ex. address nora as sir, brother, etc.) and vice versa (ex. address nate as ma'am, sister, etc.)

if this can only be done for companions or possibly main quest characters as well that would be okay too, since i'm well aware that random people who don't know a trans person are not necessarily going to guess that trans person's gender correctly (especially not the raider around the corner who is drugged out of his skull). at minimum i would want this kind of thing for romanceable companions (i love him, but i am so tired of hancock calling me the wrong gender) but i know that changing that much information is probably a lot of work. changing any pre-war dialogue is not necessary since it unfortunately feels accurate to have my gender be ignored by the perma-50s-era npcs before the war, and it's not a long section of the game anyway

and y'know what if anyone knows how i could do this myself (without creation kit though, thank you) and can shoot me a tutorial instead i would be very glad to have that as well, since then i'm sure i could finesse the whole thing to my liking even if it inevitably takes me a lot of effort to learn this new skill

(op's pronouns are they/them, not he/him or she/her. thank you!)