Want to start modding, but need some guidance (Primarily Armor focused)

Spyderbyte656

Before getting into this, hopefully what I'm about to cover isn't super redundant or in the wrong forum. If it's either, let me know and I'll take appropriate actions (Delete the post, move it, etc.).

Hi, as the title says, I'm new to modding.

I really want to get into making armors and eventually workshop items for the game. I'm currently focusing on doing armors.

I've been slowly going through the Wiki tutorials for adding armors and grabbing most of the programs, but am kinda confused on some parts.

The tutorials seem a bit dated and I'd rather hear this info from active users.

So far I have

- Blender 2.82 and Maya 2020(Student)

- 3DS Max 2020(Student)

- Photoshop 2020

- BodySlide & Outfit Studio

- Bethesda Archive Extractor

And will be getting these later on

- Nifskope (Recentest Version?)

- Creation Kit (Recentest Version?)

- 3DS max Nif Plugin

- Blender Nif Plugin

My first few questions regarding this:

1. What programs require specific versions and which ones do not?

So far, it seems 3DS Max needs to be 2016 for the Nif plugin. Is that set in stone or are any of the recent versions supported too?

Blender seems like it might need to be a certain version too, v. 2.75? Correct me if I'm wrong.

2. Am I missing anything / are there any other programs that would be good to grab too?

I've seen some people say Material editor and Intel Texture Tools are good to grab in addition to what's required. Should I?

3. 3DS Max vs Outfit Studio, What would you recommend for a beginner?

Think I'm leaning towards Outfit studio, but fine with using either so long as I can get the support I want.

I don't mind not having physics and using copied weights as of now, but would love to see this stuff usable with body mods + physics as soon as possible. I'd like to be able to add those options myself, if it's not too difficult.

4. Best workflows?