Gamesettings and MCM

psychoorc99

I have a little bit of coding experience but I'm new to GECK scripting and I have a scripting practice question.

I'm looking to do some difficulty rebalancing and I've set up an MCM to tweak certain game settings (health, AP, carryweight, etc.). Right now, I'm doing that with SetNumericGameSetting in a UDF set up using DoctaSax's UnlockedMCM.

My question is whether I should set each game setting individually with its own UDF, use one UDF with a bunch of if statements to set every game setting (or maybe two or three UDFs based on submenus), or do something else entirely that I haven't thought of.

I would think that one function is the way to go but I'm not sure if that will cause any performance issues (i.e. several seconds of lag before a setting changes) or otherwise lead to problems when I have a large number of game settings.

Also, if I'm totally out in left field doing this with UDFs I'm definitely open to changing my approach.

A UDF is a single frame block (TIP Block Types Multiple vs Single Frame processing). So the processing overhead for that is optimum already simply by splitting it off from the "Game Block". The rest sort of depends upon how you intend to structure your MCM menu. If sub-menus are planned, then I'm an advocate for "modular" structure with separate UDFs for each menu if that makes sense. Keep the "calls" to a minimum though as each adds it's own overhead.

-Dubious-

I would think just like other begin blocks. You could put multiple "Begin Function { }" blocks in the same UDF script name. As long as only 1 is doing it's functioning at a time. But actually I never have used one of these type of blocks , so I don't really know. I just can't imagine it would be different though. Which often times I prefer multiple Begin blocks of the same type , instead of a bunch of if / else in one block . Elseif's on the other hand I guess you need to keep in one block.

Is that what you are asking ?