The Video Game Industry's Monetisation of Mods discussion

youg3

Hey people,

So firstly, a full disclaimer. I’m a student (here's my newbie post for more on me: https://forums.nexusmods.com/index.php?/topic/8744958-hello-from-a-student-researcher/) researching the effects that the video games industry’s current and previous attempts of monetising mods has had on the online community spaces that encourage the creation of this content. I’m hoping to gain a greater perspective on how the community feels about these practices in general, and whether or not there has been any lasting effects from these industry attempts.

The reason why I’m doing this on mods is because I love mods. I love trying out the interesting, quirky inventions that members of the community have come up with and I love that games I enjoy playing are actively supported with this wide range of content.

With all that said, and sorry for dragging on a little, I would highly appreciate it if we could kick off a discussion/debate on the video game industry’s attempts to monetise mods.

• What do you think of these practices?

• Are they good for mods and the community or are they bad?

• Can you provide any examples of the effect it has had here?

• Can you propose an alternative?

• Is there an alternative?

• Can you make a counterpoint to someone else’s post?

Some examples of such practices include: Bethesda’s Creation Club and Cities: Skylines Content Creator Packs. If you know any more, don’t hesitate to add them to the discussion.

Any reference excerpts taken from this thread for use within the research will be anonymised.