Construction Set Crashes When I Add Dialog

I’ve played Oblivion a lot but I’m new to modding. I’m working my way through tutorials and discovered that trying to create NPC dialog crashes the TES4 Construction Set (CS).

Until now, the CS (v1.2.404) worked fine. I’ve used it to create a few simple mods that add weapons, armor, spells, a house and even a five-level dungeon with modified vanilla creatures and treasure chests.

I started a quest-making tutorial and was able to complete all the steps including copy-and-modify an NPC… until it was time to add dialog.

In the Topics Tab, I can add a new Topic without problem. But, when I try to add a new “Info” to any topic (either to the topic I created or a vanilla topic) with right-click "New", the term *Empty appears in the Info field for about two seconds, then CS shuts down.

I can copy and delete an info for a vanilla topic, but double-clicking on the copy crashes the CS.

Farther down that screen, if I try to create new Response Text for an info, CS shuts down.

The same thing happens in the other 6 dialogue tabs (Conversation, Combat, Persuasion, Detection, Service, Misc) which is not surprising since they are all based on the same design.

The same problem happens whether I select a vanilla quest or use a quest I’ve created.

I’m running Windows 10. The game runs fine as do OBMM and OBSE. Oblivion, OBSE, OBMM and the CS are installed in C:\Oblivion to avoid the C:\Programsx86 restrictions. Even so, I’ve tried setting all the executables to “Run as Administrator.” I am the only user on the computer and I am SysAdmin.

Using the Compatibility tab, I’ve also tried running the CS under XP, Vista, Win7 and Win8. I repeated the process using the “Change Settings for All Users” option. Didn't help.

I’ve uninstalled and reinstalled the CS. I’ve downloaded copies from three different sources and installed each in case the one I had was corrupted. The same problem occurred.