Is it possible to chage the path were mods are installed?

ivanglez
Go to solution Solved by nt5raham,

So I'm going for a paythrogh of VtM: Bloodlines before the new game comes out. And thought about modding it. Also, I wanted to do it "the proper way". I'm relatively new to vortex. I've modded extensively Skyrim and a little bit Fallout 4, but nothig else.

Long story short: VtM: B. needs (well not exactly needed but is such an improvement) an unnofficial pathch. When you have this patch installed you need to put mods in it's folder intead of the one for the game (where vortex puts them). So, is there a way to tell Vortex to use an alternate folder to install mods without changing the path of the game?

Or maybe I should go back to manual instalations for this game?

If you change the mod installation path in Vortex, it will do it globally for all mods, and move the mods already installed to the new location (a nifty feature if that was what you were looking for). But for a one-off mod like you've got it sounds like manual install is the way to go.

Thank you!

But, how do you change that path on Vortex? Are you refereing to the "Mods staging folder"? I can't find anything else.

Anyway, it turns out I was mistaken and Vortex is indeed aware of the Unoficcial Patch and puts mods where I wanted automagically. My mods weren't working because of symlinks, hardlinks needed for this game aparently. Still interested in this for future reference and out of curiosity, though.

• Solution