An Old Gamer's Gratitude

michaelrym

Hello everyone,

Principally I'm writing this to thank the people who created and maintain this portal. I'm a freelancer and thus almost always broke, but the moment my situation improves I'm going to put my money where my mouth is, and go Premium.

A couple of weeks ago I got myself the complete edition of Fallout 4, spurred by a Steam sale - the whole package cost twenty-odd dollars, and it was the first game I've bought for myself in years. I've always loved Fallout: I've played Fallout 1, 2, 3, NV, and Fallout Tactics. Fallout 1 and Tactics were the only games I ever finished. I play what I see is now called 'permadeath' (used to be called 'iron man', IIRC). Fallout 1 was short enough to replay it repeatedly until I got to the end without dying (although Dogmeat died near the very end on my victorious playthrough, which very nearly made me quit - but I couldn't stand the thought of playing the game from the start once again). I also finished Fallout Tactics, because I was forced to - I was writing the strategy guide to it. It definitely isn't one of my favourite Fallout games.

I love Fallout 4 so far (died 4 times so far, today I'll start a fifth attempt; I play exclusively on survival mode). I must say I've downloaded quite a few mods to help me get through to the end, and here I'd like to thank the creators of Vortex. Although it took me a while to learn how to use it, it really was worth it - it's an absolutely amazing tool.

A separate very big thank you goes to creators of the mods available here, I'm gobsmacked by how good some people are at this sort of thing. I've also picked up a lot of good gameplay tips on this site.

I'm not able to reciprocate by putting up a mod of my own, because I just don't have the talent and time to create and interesting mod. However, maybe a few people will find a couple of my observations helpful even though they might be irritating.