No Master Files Available

This is my first time trying to use the Special Edition Creation kit, ive tried to use the oldrim one but never been successful with it either. I am trying to make a follower NPC out of my player character, but im running into issues as soon as I launch the program lol.

When I go to select a master file to set as active, there are none to select from in the list. Ive tried to google it but I cant really find anyone else not having any master files show up at all, I assume its because its a very simple thing maybe most people wouldn't have trouble with lol and maybe Its just over my head. I also get a warning that says the program cant find a few specific mesh files, I dont know if this has to do with the fact my game is pretty modded or what, but If anyone knows what the problem might be I would really appreciate the help! Like I said Ive never really used the Creation Kit or done any modding really so I have no idea what could be going on.

I will note that the creation kit is in a separate folder than skyrim (skyrim in my steam folder and the kit in the bethesda launcher folder) But I didn't think that would be an issue.

these are the files it says it cant find, I thought I would add this info because im not sure if its related to my master files not appearing:

Could not find model Meshes\Sky\Atmosphere.nif
Could not find model Meshes\Sky\Clouds.nif
Could not find model Meshes\Water\DefaultProceduralWater.NIF
Could not find model Meshes\TranslateGizmo.NIF
Could not find model Meshes\RotateGizmo.NIF
Could not find model Meshes\ScaleGizmo.NIF
Could not find model Meshes\PrimitiveGizmo.NIF

I believe that IS your issue! Put the CK in the same folder as your master files.

okay I will try that, thank you! Do you think I just need to move the creation kit .exe file? Or the whole folder containing it and the other files alongside it?