"The thing" - another Institute experiment

SpiritTauren

FEV-based "the thing" made by the Institute.

--

So, I'm just starting to learn modding Bethesda games (switching from Warcraft 3). I'll eventually try to implement this idea myself, if no similar project exists by that hypothetical moment in future. In the mean time, I'm posting the idea here, should someone else (more talented) take liking to the idea. I'm all about sharing info and developing open source projects. Therefore, it's not a request per se, rather a sort of food for thought.

--

Idea concept:

FEV (and the way its origin and variants are handled in most recent Fallout games) already allows players and mod-makers to add more or less lore-friendly (to a certain degree) creative mods (for example, the Institute centaurs).

The Institute is well known for their idiotic experiments, so why wouldn't they start another one, yet more twisted?

What if, the Institute created another variety of FEV? What if this new virus behaved like "the thing" from 1982's horror movie? Just imagine: a settler arrives to your settlement, but it's a shape-shifting creature sent by the Institute (a new experiment of some sorts).

The said creature explodes into a bloody mess of claws, teeth, appendages and tentacles and starts assimilating your settlers at night, while no one sees it. All of it can happen, while you're away on a mission (helping another settlement).

By the time you visit your least favorite settlement (Croup Manor, etc.) most of your settlers might already be the imitations... And once you go to sleep, they crawl into your bedroom and start assimilating you as well.

A blood test would be necessary to find out who is still human (synths would qualify as humans and go unnoticed, as a simple blood test doesn't reveal them). Mod integration with some key characters (like Curie, traveling doctors, maybe Lorenzo?) could be an interesting idea as well.