trying to edit argis in ck - dark face bug of doom! HELP!

Hi all! I'm totally new to modding and I really wanted to change Argis' look so I decided to teach myself.

I had some issues in the very beginning and got help on that so I won't go through my whole process but this is all I've managed to do:

I downloaded Creation Kit, added some mods I wanted to use to change his look, and got to work.

---I used: Brows, The Eyes of Beauty, and KS Hairdos.

I exported facegen for Argis and a window popped up saying it was done.

Then I saved it all as a new plugin - esp - file, and made sure it was showing up in my Vortex Mod Manager, which it was.

I then made the ROOKIE mistake of testing my new plugin on my main save and Argis's face was dark brown, had vanilla hair, and his scar and blind eye were still there (not in the picture I included, but when I went back in they were there) even though I changed those features.

I tried to load a previous save wondering if maybe a different save file would contain his orginal features but he was still dark faced.

I finally figured out that I have conflicting mods because I use several hair mods as well as WICO which changes the appearance of most NPCs (Argis included)

so I went back and disabled WICO but that still didn't solve the problem.

I moved my mod to the bottom of the load order so it would overwrite but it didn't work. (Also hard to do with VMM? I couldn't figure out how to manage the load order unless it was one at a time)

I even started a new game with a brand new character to see if it would do anything and he was still dark faced so I don't know what to do.

I also noticed that every time I close CK and reopen it, Argis isn't exactly the way I left him. His eyes, hair, and brows are different from his normal vanilla look, but they still use vanilla features instead of items from the mods I chose.

For example: I chose "Sunrays" eyes, but when I reboot CK his eyes are "MaleEyesHumanLightBlue" (vanilla)