Which to patch with first? - Wyre Bash // Xedit

sump0

Hey all.

Sorry for any mistakes I make I'm very new to modding things the right way and even newer still to posting on forums.

I've been slamming my stupid head on the desk trying to fully mod the game and for once do it the right way, so I've been following the U.L.T.I.M.A.T.E guide and through trial and error I've managed to cobble together a working game. More or less. In the guide he tells me to use Wyre Bash to make a leveled patch, followed by a Xedit patch. Now here's what confuses me: The step in the guide where he tells us to make the Xedit patch he links us to

and in that video he tells us to immediately Wyre Bash patch.

tl;dr
So my question is this:
In what order should I patch?
1: Wyre Bash patch first, Xedit patch second?
2: Xedit patch first and Wyre Bash patch second?
3: Wyre Bash patch first, Xedit patch second, followed by another Wyre Bash patch?

I don't think it's the latter as it feels a little redundant. In all honesty it feels like it doesn't matter so long as I make sure to delete the right "Leveled x" entries in both patches but I'm on my 10th attempt at this so I clearly don't know anything!

(P.S, He also does his LOD mods after both patches, which I don't quite understand why if anyone could enlighten me?)

Cheers in advance.

While both WB and xEdit are creating essentially the same thing, the big difference is that WB automates the "record level conflict" resolution in load order sequence. This works fine for most such conflicts. But the xEdit process lends itself to deciding those exceptions where you want an earlier loading record to "win" the conflict instead. By running WB first, and then creating an xEdit patch with just the different winners, you are reducing the number of manual changes needed. This becomes important if you tend to modify your load order with updates to plugins frequently, as you should rebuild your "merged patch(s)" whenever you do so.