A few questions about arrays ...

Good evening everybody!

So, I am new to this whole "scripting" thing ...

But I think I understand the "basics" like events, functions, properties, ...

I was thinking about implementing some stuff with a script and the following questions about arrays came up:

1. How many "entries" can an array have in FO4?
  2. Can I "save" an array or can it just be used in the script that "defines" it?
  3. Can you import / export the contents of an array from / into a CSV or TXT file?

The CK wiki article about "arrays" isn't really helpful, it just talks about using arrays inside of scripts.

Could some of the scripting gods here (or anybody else who knows this) please share their knowledge about this?

Thanks ...

You can save an array inside of a script, and access it from other scripts if you wish. Arrays in papyrus can have a max of 128 entries. Here's an example:

Scriptname TestModQuestScript extends Quest 
Int[] Property IntArray Auto 

Event OnInit()
    IntArray = New Int[128] ;initialize array 
    IntArray[0] = 0
    IntArray[1] = 1 
    ;Ect 
EndEvent 
In another script, to access the above script and its array.
TestModQuestScript Property ScriptRef Auto 
;In the CK, choose the form the script is attached to. In the example, it's a quest

Event SomeEvent()
    Int ZeroPosInt = ScriptRef.IntArray[0]

;to change and save the int in the array
    ScriptRef.IntArray[1] = 100
EndEvent
Edited by dylbill

Thanks for the quick answer!

So an array can only have 128 "entries"?

Ugghhh .. that is very very few ...

(Kind of reminds me of programming embedded microcontrollers that only have a few kB of memory ...)

So arrays are like global variables that can be "accessed" from "anywhere at anytime"?

Also, if they are a "property", is there some sort of an "object" in the CK that is associated with them?

(Like if you have an "actor" as a property, you can "fill" that property with an actor reference ...)