[LE] How to script addiction without SKSE?

Hey guys :smile:
I'm working on a mod where I need to script an addiction in SSE, without using SKSE (because I am making it for both PC and XBox, and SKSE is not available on XBox). It's for a mod I'm working on called Stormbringer, based on Elric stories by Michael Moorcock.
The Stormbringer sword should cause something like an addiction, so when you're not using it for a day then you have debuffs or similar to health and stamina, and when you are using it these stats could increase somewhat too. I've seen many addiction mods, but they all seem to require SKSE. The closest I've found without needing SKSE were survival based mods where you start to get sick when you've been in cold weather too long, or haven't eaten for awhile, that sort of thing.
I am new to scripting though, so I was wondering if anyone could give me some tips on this?

Thanks guys, have a good one :smile:

Hey, this shouldn't require skse and isn't too difficult. The way I would do it, is when the sword is equipped, it adds a spell ability to the actor that equipped the sword that buffs the stats you want. When the sword is unequipped, it removes the buff and adds an addiction start spell ability that updates in 24 game hours. In the onUpdate, it casts the actual addiction spell on the target. Here's some scripts to get you started:

Scriptname StormBringerScript extends ObjectReference 

;Attach this script to your sword 

Spell Property AddictionAbility Auto
Spell Property BuffAbility Auto

Event OnEquipped(Actor akActor)
    akActor.RemoveSpell(AddictionAbility) 
    akActor.AddSpell(BuffAbility)
EndEvent

Event OnUnequipped(Actor akActor)
    akActor.AddSpell(AddictionAbility)
    akActor.RemoveSpell(BuffAbility) 
EndEvent 

And then:

Scriptname StormBringerAbilityScript extends ActiveMagicEffect 

;this script is on the AddictionAbility's magic effect 

Spell Property AddictionAbility Auto ;Ability Spell

Spell Property AddictionSpell Auto