SkyrimVR mods not showing up in game

Rhysy2

Hi, I'm new at using Vortex so hopefully this will be just be something really stupid that I'm missing. I've read various other similar-sounding threads and FAQs and none of it seems to work...

I'm trying to install a mod for Skyrim VR using Vortex version 1.13.9. Specifically, I'm trying the enhanced textures detail mod (which I'd actually like to use) and the Talos guide you menu mod (which I'm just using to test if mods are working, since this should be instantly and clearly visible on the loading screen).

As per various instructions, I edited my SkyrimPrefs.ini file to have the additional two lines at the end :

[Launcher]
bEnableFileSelection=1

I installed Vortex using all the default options. I've enabled "deploy mods when enabled" and "enable mods when installed" in the Automation section of the Settings section (I also tried manually deploying them). In the "Games" section, SkyrimVR shows as a managed game with two active mods. In the "mods" panel, both mods show as Enabled. I also read somewhere that the game should be launched from within Vortex itself to get mods to work for the first time, so I've tried that too. Also tried removing and reinstalling mods. It didn't have any effect.

I also read that as well as enabling the mod itself plugins must also be enabled. I've included a screenshot of my plugins section. They all show as "loaded by engine"; none show either as enabled or disabled. The enable/disable checkboxes at the bottom are non-functional (clicking does nothing.

I don't have the Skyrim Script Extender, but if I understand things correctly, this shouldn't be necessary for simple graphics mods. I do not have Skyrim Special Edition, just Skyrim VR. I'm not sure what else there is to try - the whole process sounds like it should be very simple, but there must be something I'm missing. Any ideas ?

(CAPS for emphasis, because they're quicker than Italics)