Mod ideas: Might & Magic / ZDoom sprite ports and etc.

sttr413

Hi there,

Let me say right off the bat I have a hard time getting into DFU due to gameplay reasons. I mean no disrespect, this game is just not for everyone it seems. Hence, I am putting this ideas on hold and releasing them here, though I really kinda want to work on them myself. Feel free to use. In fact, I am currently studying C# and Unity, among other things.

Idea 1: to port Might & Magic VI-VIII sprites into DFU

Might & Magic has some beautiful sprites that do not get distorted while in motion and look very vivid and detailed, adding them into DFU, especially if additional steps are taken like AI upscale, can greatly enhance the visuals of the game. There is way more monster/villager types in MM6-8 compared to Daggerfall, so there is more than enough material to work with. There is not enough sprites to replace static daggerfall NPCs though, since MM doesn't really have "NPCs" apart from basic villagers of various ingame races - so no bartenders, bards or other indoors characters. Software to extract those sprites is available and fully functional, and there is proof it is possible to port them to other games, for example Doom: https://forum.zdoom.org/viewtopic.php?f=19&t=61221 . Looks fantastic, doesn't it?

Idea 1.5: to expand on previous idea

Not just replace sprites, but add new monster types using MM6-8 sprites. Those three games have a ton of iconic creatures you might've also encountered in Heroes of Might & Magic III - like Manticores, Dragons, Titans, Nagas, Medusas, Troglodytes, Minotaurs, Skeletal Dragons and a great many others. Link above has some videos. Please note I am not the author of said content, Alpaca is: https://www.youtube.com/c/AlpacaNox/videos

Idea 2: to port GZDoom engine weapon sprites into DFU